In this article, I’m going to suggest a few optimization methods to look into during an awareness campaign. Since optimization is all about testing and seeing how each one works for every campaign you optimize.

I’m not assuring that this article will provide you 100% perfect optimization tips but will at least help you get an idea.

Firstly, we need to pull reports using different dimensions and performance metrics

In the Awareness campaign, serving more impressions is a very important and primary target. So CPM becomes the Primary KPI for any awareness campaign.

Understand CPM:

For a given budget, changes in eCPM determine high or low served impressions than planned.

For example,

Let’s assume Total Budget for Campaign A is $1000 and Maximum CPM is $5 ( which means we only buy impressions if the CPM of inventory is <= $5

So from the above data, planned impressions = (Budget / CPM ) *1000

= ($1000 / $5) x 1000

= 2,00,000 impressions.

With the given budget and max bid value, you can reach up to 2 lakh impressions.

So how can you improve the number of impressions served?

By setting the max Bid value in the platform, we can maintain less eCPM. But still, we need to optimize towards lowering the CPM as much as possible.

After the budget is spent, how many impressions we can achieve with various eCPM values

Delivered Impressions = ($1000 / $5) x 1000 = 2,00,000 impressions

Delivered Impressions = ($1000 / $4.5) x 1000 = 2,22,222 impressions

Delivered Impressions = ($1000 / $4) x 1000 = 2,50,000 impressions

Delivered Impressions = ($1000 / $3) x 1000 = 3,33,3333 impressions

Lower the eCPM – Higher the impressions

If you Choose Primary KPI as CPM
You can also focus on Secondary KPIs and Third KPIs as CTR for Display, Completion rate for video, Viewability (Display and Video), Viewable CPM (Display and Video) etc

I’m adding a few dimensions below to optimize towards the campaign awareness goal and lower CPMs. If CPMs are met you can also choose Secondary KPI, Third KPI and optimize towards them

Find out where we are losing impressions:


In DSPs like DV360, Impression loss metrics help to find out where we are losing impressions and focus on that dimensions.

This imps Loss metrics help to check which lines are losing impressions for lower bids and budget allocated for them

When the Impressions count crosses a certain amount we can get a chance to optimize specific campaign goals. Examples like 10k to 20k impressions, 100 to 200 clicks etc.


In the dashboard, a chart is available to review reasons for impressions loss like

  • Below minimum bid
  • Auctions lost
  • Budget and Pacing,
  • Due to limited Frequency
  • No eligible creatives
  • Other reasons

From the above list, the main reasons for impressions are known with a percentage given beside it

Now try to get the dimensions at which this loss is happening and adjust accordingly

By looking at impression loss data, we can optimize which helps you win desired inventory that was lost due to inefficient settings


Device Type:

Dimension: Device Type

Metrics: Impressions, Clicks, Conversions, Revenue, CPM, CPC, CPA, CTR, etc

If any device is having high CPMs mean that you are purchasing a higher value and spending more on that

You can create a separate Line item, targeting only those devices with low CPMs and optimize towards it.

Using Bid Multipliers also helps to avoid creating multiple lines and make changes in the single line item



Check out which strategy can be purchased at low CPMs.

If you want to keep scale, try to choose different list of targeting which relevant one and optimize accordingly.


Dimension: Website urls/ Apps / Youtube Urls (only youtube campaign – dv360, google ads)

Metrics: Impressions, Clicks, Conversions, Revenue, CPM, CPC, CPA, CTR, etc

From the reports look at sites with,
Sort out by high impressions and low CPMs
Sites with Clicks, conversions
Sites with high CTR
Sites with high viewable impressions
High CPMs indicates premium inventory which are valuable for long-term buys

Also, how to identify poor performance sites with
Low spend, clicks, conversions,
Impressions with less than the standard viewable percentage
High clicks but fewer or no conversions
Low standard sites

You can optimize sites as follows:
Separate low-performing and high-performing sites as per your campaign KPI. And create site channels lines for each one
Add worst performing to blacklist channel. You work on this time to time identify worst performing and make more in the list.


Now let’s focus on Creatives now

If there is only one creatives, there is no need of any optimization in this section of creatives. But you can suggest to the client to keep creatives fresh and change them if they are worst performing

If there are multiple creatives you can add as a rotation. It means that you give equal opportunity for each creative to deliver.

Use Dimensions: Creatives, Creative size, Creative type, Creative formats
In case of YouTube : Ad Group, YouTube Ads, YouTube Ad ID

Metrics: Impressions, Clicks, Conversions, Viewable impressions, Average Interaction time

Sort out the creatives and check if they are meeting KPI
Creatives with high Spend, CTR, Viewability (display)
Creatives with high Spend, Completion rate, and Viewability ( Videos)

You can optimize sites as follows:

From multiple creatives that are running, create a separate line with optimization toward it. You can bid higher for them

If creatives are worst performing, you can pause those creatives. So that spend goes to only performing ones

Try different ad formats and check which one gives the best performance

Also, check if there are any issues with serving of creatives like mismatch in landing page and click tracker, Policy violation, rejection in the platform, etc


Now let’s focus on Day and time now

Dimensions: Time of the day, Day of the week, Week
Metrics: you can choose related to spend and metrics related to KPI
Impressions, clicks, spend, Completion rate (video), Viewability

You can build a pivot and add filters for dimensions

Now check which time of the day meets your KPI and which do not.

Check lines with low CTR, VTR, Viewability, etc. Also cost metrics like CPM, CPC, CPCV etc.

If you see a very low performance during some particular time and day, then duplicate existing line items.
Remove those timings of the day and bid more. Check after a few days if they are affecting overall campaign performance.

Please note that Day of the week can be after two or three weeks to get more data.


You can check around Multiple dimensions and optimize towards best performing one.


When the campaign is reaching its end date, do this a couple of weeks before.

  • Monitor spending and pacing on a daily basis. Check if there is any delivery issues
  • Optimize away from an expensive inventory which is not achieving the campaign goal
  • Check out the spend and CPMs fluctuations from time to time, week to week, month to next month. This happens due to Inventory availability.
  • Make sure that most of the budget is spent on high performing lines
  • Either you can remove or lower the bid for low performing lines and strategies
  • Allocate more budget on high performing ones
  • Test and Learning is very important during the optimization of any campaign

You can consider the learning of the previous campaign and add anything specific that leads to improvement in campaign performance and reaching the goal


Learn & Apply

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